I Ain’t Ready Yet.

     Earlier in the month I wrote this poem and then proceeded to file it away as a someday post. That was until, I read “The Prayer Collector” over at Nae’s Nest@wordpress.com. Renee, (Robinson) seemed to have the same basic idea for a post, although hers, is based in fact and on a much more personal and spiritual plane. If you don’t know her story, I’ll just say that she is battling cancer as courageously as anyone I  have ever known and she is sharing the story of her struggle with anyone who will listen. So I recommend hopping on over and taking a look. I’m sure she will appreciate it, and you won’t regret it either.

     I am hoping for a winner of a Wednesday for all,

Jake.

I Ain’t Ready Yet

 My body is old,

but, my mind remains young.

So I’ll continue the fight,

til the last bell, is rung,

and the final sweet note,

of my life’s song, is sung.

And “God take me, I’m ready,”

has rolled off my tongue.

***

 Jack Downing

Feb. 2012

 Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 2/29/12

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in Elders, God, health care, history, life, poet, reflections, Songs and Dances, spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Ain’t Ready Yet.

  1. Rage against the dying of the light…..On the other hand I have seen many that just said “I am ready”

    • I’ve seen first hand, how the wish “justto die” is the onlyapparent way to end the pain. It’s a sad situation, and I sometimes think Kevorkian had the right idea..

      ________________________________

  2. Nae's Nest says:

    Beautiful poem Jack. Thank you for the kind words too. Take care honey.

Leave a Reply

