Blades of Grass

      Was I abducted by aliens? Did I time travel? Or was I just briefly,(or not so briefly) out of my mind somewhere? (I’m leaning toward the latter.) But, it would seem that I lost a day over the weekend. As I look back over my recent posts, I realize that my post for February 12th is missing..Nope, I can’t find it anywhere. I looked between Saturday the 11th and today Monday the 13th, and a post is missing. Gone, vanished, non-existent, vaporized. Where, oh where can it be? But, in the words of the song by Willie Nelson…”There’s Nothing I Can Do About It Now”  I must move forward and forget about the “Lost Chronicles of Nar Jake” and start anew..

     This poem is just a reminder of what happens to us as we move along with our lives. How, in our youth we think we are invincible and that we will live forever, and always be as hale and hearty as we are when in our prime..”Not Gonna Happen”… I seem to think of Dana Carvey(of ‘Saturday Night Live‘ fame) when I say that. However, the truth is, we can become a burden to others as time goes on, and the young of today will, if they live long enough, realize it all too soon.

     Have a magical Monday, 

Jake.

Ps. If anyone finds my Sunday post, please send it home…  A small reward awaits.

J.

    

BLADES OF GRASS

Youth has no care,

of death or time,

it has not lived,

enough to know.

*

 That the years are,

 as blades of grass,

 if they’re not cut,

 they grow.

*

 But, if they’re cut,

they are no more,

than thatch,

upon the lawn.

*

 But, if allowed,

to grow and grow,

a chore,

they shall become.

***

 Jack Downing

June 2009

 Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 2/13/12

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blades of Grass

  1. Was my kitty Buddy at your house on Sunday??? He totally deleted one of my posts so I bet he snuck out when we were at church and pawed his way into your computer. I wouldn’t put it past him. After all he is on Rutin now and who knows what it is doing to him!

    • As much as I would like to accept that as the answer,, We have an attack cat on duty..(the sign on the door says so) and I doubt she would share her space (as luxurious as it is) with another cat.. I trust Buddy is doing well though.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

