The Diamond And The Rose

     So, where was I? Oh yes, I was explaining why it is that I sometimes put stuff out there that I have already put out there, before. (redundancy²) Well this poem is one that I am positive is not one,,,, of those that I have already put out there previously, in the past. (redundancy³)  Okay, I’m sorry. I  just couldn’t help having a little fun with you, who are  fine and wonderful people of patience, with magnificent sense(s) of humor. 

     In all partial seriousness I know this is a new poem, because I just wrote it the other day.. Do not bother to memorize it, as I will undoubtedly re-post it, as soon as I forget that I already have.

     Have a sociable Saturday everyone,

Jake.

The Diamond And The Rose

The mind holds answers to queries,

heretofore not posed.

As such, what be the attraction,

of the diamond and the rose?

The diamond lasts forever,

the possessor, does not so,

and the rose is doomed, upon a snip,

will forever cease to grow.

***

 Jack Downing

Jan. 2012

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 1/14/12

About poemsandponderings

I stand alone to gaze upon my days and years gone by. I've laughed, I've cried, I've loved and loathed, but now, I can't remember why! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Flowers, mischievious, poet, thoughts, wealth and worth, Why is it? and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Diamond And The Rose

  1. adeeyoyo says:

    Love the way it can be interpreted in many ways, Jake!

Leave a Reply

