A Pearl In My Shoe

    If only we could, make pearls out of that which irritates us. How rich would we all be? Political ads alone would make us Billionaires!!

     This one is from the infant stages of my poetry. Please don’t judge it to harshly.(not that I’ve gotten any better, I just don’t do well with criticism)

     A wish for a wisdom-filled Wednesday to all,

Jake.

Ps. January has an “r” in it so it’s okay to eat oysters. Right?  But, I’m not taking any chances.

A PEARL IN MY SHOE

 A pearl is formed,

in an oyster’s shell,

by a single grain of sand.

Then the oyster,

coats it to curtail,

the irritating action.

*

 But, a grain,

not much larger yet,

hurts you when you stand.

For once implanted,

in your shoe,

will drive you to distraction.

***

Jack Downing

                                                                          June 2009

 Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in history, humor, life, poet, political, politicians, wealth and worth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Pearl In My Shoe

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Yummmm…..to both the oysters and the pearls!! Every time Chris goes to China I get more pearls!! But this last time I got beautiful red coral! And don’t think we would be harsh!!! Love your stuff –always!

  2. Great poem! I think we all need to be more like oysters!

  3. Love this statement …”If we could only make pearls out of that which irritates us”” leads me to ponder….. yes we can…. with the proper attitude…….God bless you Jake

Leave a Reply

