Doom And Gloom

     In keeping with yesterday’s post, a reposting. Read it and (don’t) weep. I am trying to keep to my promise of “no more long-winded introductions” although it is difficult sometimes.

Enjoy,

Jake.

DOOM AND GLOOM

 “It’s coming soon,

   impending doom,

    the sky is going to fall.”

     I’ve heard predictions,

     with few restrictions,

     of calamities, big and small.

   *

     But, when the time,

      it is behind,

        and nothing happens, after all.

        the doomsday crowd,

     without a head, that’s bowed,

        say “someone, missed the call.”

   *

     They’ll say “the moon,

     was not in tune,”

        and say it, with some gall.

                                                                          Then re-compute,

                                                                           in their pursuit,

                                                                         the ending of us all.

        ***

                                                                              Jack Downing

                                                                                June 2009

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD

About poemsandponderings

I stand alone to gaze upon my days and years gone by. I've laughed, I've cried, I've loved and loathed, but now, I can't remember why! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in bull, demise, Earth and Us, history, in my opinion, judgement, life, Make Believe, no cause to weep, thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Doom And Gloom

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Why doom and gloom on a sunny Monday, Jake? You trying to bring me down??? Won’t work!

    • Au contraire, Madame.. It was meant to ‘spit in the eye’ of the naysayer..Keep those spirits up, the world is going to need you for a long, long, time. ‘Let your Monday be full of Hope, your Tuesday, befull of dreams, and the rest of your days, be sweet as ice cream.’ That was a stretch..but it rhymed. Have a GREAT day Beth Ann, your friend, Jake.

      ________________________________

  2. Very humorous.
    P.S. I like the “long-winded introductons”!

    • Oh, you are heaven sent!! I liked telling the story behind the story, it seemed to bring out another character in me, but the feeling that it was not especially contributory to the blog was always in my mind. I am glad that [you] liked them, and maybe I’ll sneakily extend them as[we] go..ha ha ha. Thanks so much, as usual, Jake.

      ________________________________

  3. One harbinger that the apocalypse is near: a certified letter from the ex’s attorney. (divorce was in 1984)

Leave a Reply

