The Evening of All Saints

     Ghosts and ghouls, goblins and gremlins, leprechauns and unicorns (wouldn’t that be neat) ball players and ballerinas, kings and queens, aliens and action figures, yep, it’s Halloween again. I do not wish to keep bringing up the “good old days” theme but, it used to be you knew your neighborhood, you knew who had the good candy and who had the, yuck, apples and nuts. Your parents did not have to accompany you after the age of say eight or nine, you went on your own and you came home for another empty bag sometimes, and you went back out….It was great! It is gone!!! Lunatic adults ruined it for the kids..Razor blades, rat poison, need I go on? Now the kids and the adults both have Halloween Parties, the kids don’t have as much fun, and the adults have another excuse to “party.”

     Back in the day, Halloween used to have a somewhat scary feel to it, and it was fun for the youngsters….

     Have a Freaky Friday everyone,  Hahahahaha!!!

Jake.

The Evening of All Saints

The October day, had surrendered to the dark,

when the winds of chill, began to howl,

and carried on it’s back, a woeful bark,

soon followed, by the hooting of the owl.

With, shutters clapping rhythmic, on the sides,

the house began to waken, in the night,

warning me, of what may be outside,

I arose, and put the porch, in light.

Putting mind to ease, I then returned,

to my long-awaited evening meal,

there in the pot, and now just slightly burned,

could still nourish, and my hunger heal.

Then, with the spoon, but barely at my lips,

there came a pounding, loud, upon my door,

and fear, it journeyed fast, from head to hips,

frozen now, my feet seemed, to the floor.

Then came again, the urgent, frightful sound,

which, stirred my mind back into action,

rising slowly, yet, my heart began to pound,

curiosity, now demanding satisfaction.

What dread awaited me, out in the night,

what hellish thing, had put my heart to beat?

I unlatched and flung the door, to face the fright,

and heard the gleeful yell, of trick or treat!

I had forgotten, the day of souls in pain,

and the night that passes, in between,

that day, and the day of all the saints,

the eve all children know, as Halloween.

Jack Downing

Sept. 2009

About poemsandponderings

I stand alone to gaze upon my days and years gone by. I've laughed, I've cried, I've loved and loathed, but now, I can't remember why! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in aliens, Americana, Autumn, children, Family, ghosts, grandchildren, Halloween, haunted house, haunting, history, humor, in my opinion, king, life, Make Believe, mischievious, old days, ponderings, reception, reflections, religion, Seasons, soul, Spirits, thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Evening of All Saints

  1. adeeyoyo says:

    Good grief, when you flung open the door… I couldn’t have done that! Nice build-up of tension, Jack.

    • Thanks Denise, thoughI am sure you would not go tohide somewhere, as you are a strong, fearless,andindependant woman. Protecting what is yours is paramount to you, and rightfully so… I pray your Friday is treating you well, Jake.

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Close the door!! Close the door!!! What are you thinking???

    • Oooooohhh, went the wind and out went the lights,,,,,,,,,,black cats and witcheswaiting in the night…Oooooohhh!!! It’s only a poem, it’s only a poem, keep telling yourself. lol I hope your Friday is fabulous Rusty, Jake.

  3. Michael says:

    Hi Jack, Nice post. You too have a freaky Friday ……………………

  4. Neighborhood I just left was all Jehovah’s Witness and 7th Day Adventist. No Halloween and no Christmas. If the high school has a Saturday night football game half the team does not show up as it is their Sabaath.

Leave a Reply

