Garden of Smiles

©     Okay, enough doom and gloom, (although I do have a poem with that title) it’s time to get back to smilin’.  Again, more fiction, just so you know. I can’t remember growing tomatos, but, I don’t remember a lot of things anymore. (I wonder why) But, I gave some advice to a new friend today, to start her garden early, and I hope she has a bumper crop. By the way,what are bumpers? And are they grown on a vine or on a bush??? I’ve always wondered that,(actually, I’ve never wondered that) and what do they taste like? Hmmm. Oh yeah, the dictionary says the plural of tomato is tomatoes, but I don’t like the looks of it, so I’m sticking to tomatos, and if Mr. Webster doesn’t like it… Tough!! What’s he gonna do about it? It’s my poem!! 

Anyway, I am wishing for all of you, a million smiles today, and don’t forget to share your abundance with your neighbors. They may need them more than you do. This was supposed to be published on Thursday 9/21/11 but I had trouble getting to my dashboard. Problem solved…actually just went away.

Have a __________(you fill in the blank) Friday,

Jake.

Garden of Smiles

 Well, once I grew marijuana,

and tomatos, on the vine.

But, all I’m growing now, is old,

and it’s damn near, harvest time.

Yes, this year’s crop, may be my last,

and my planting days, be through.

But, until I reap, that final time,

I’ll till and plant, anew.

For, if there’s fruit, for me to taste,

or a fragrance, to inhale,

then, I will sit down, in my garden,

and smile, until I fail.

Jack Downing

Nov. 2010

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD.

About poemsandponderings

I stand alone to gaze upon my days and years gone by. I've laughed, I've cried, I've loved and loathed, but now, I can't remember why! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Americana, comfort, Earth and Us, environment, Gardens, history, humor, illegal, life, Make Believe, marijuana, no secret keep, old days, peace, rain, reflections, Seasons, Summer, thoughts, tomatoes, tranaquility and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Garden of Smiles

  1. Hehe😄u crazy, Jake! 😄ur challenging mr. Webster huh? Tomatos? Only you can make me laugh so hard these days! 😘

Leave a Reply

