Silent Regret

     This is dedicated to those who did not have enough confidence or self-esteem, to ask that beautiful, or popular girl, to go to a dance or dinner and movie or anywhere, just assuming she would say no, or worse, laugh. Then worshipped from afar.

Jack.

Silent Regret

 Her skin, the color of caramel,

her eyes, were temptress, blue.

Her hair, a sun-streaked, golden brown,

and her laugh, from the soul, was true.

 

Just, to gaze upon that vision,

indeed, my fortune be.

And to hear the voice, that sirens, share,

sing solely, unto me.

 

No other had, before or since,

caused my heart, to pulse a beat.

That frightened, the very core of me,

and my blood, to course, with heat.

 

Her image still, resides in me,

and haunts me, to this day.

And, my tongue be damned, forever,

for those words, I did not say.

 

Silent be the fool, you see,

who fears, what not is known.

And ventures not, into the quest,

yet, who weeps, when all alone.

 Jack Downing

May  2011

 

 

 

 

About poemsandponderings

I stand alone to gaze upon my days and years gone by. I've laughed, I've cried, I've loved and loathed, but now, I can't remember why! ~Jack Downing~
Gallery | This entry was posted in in my opinion, life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

